The first two sounds! Euphonium Anime Films Gets Digital Release in North America


ELEVEN ARTS has announced the distribution of the first two Ring! Euphonium animated film trilogy, Ring! Euphonium ~ Welcome to Kitauji High School Marching Band! and Ring! Euphonium ~ May the melody reach you!, on digital platforms from December 1, 2020.

The films will be available on iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, Vudu, Playstation, Xbox, Fandango and Hoopla in the United States, and iTunes, Google Play and Playstation in Canada.

The animated adaptation is based on the light novel written by Ayano Takeda. Kyoto Animation is in charge of animation production. The team for the first film includes Tatsuya Ishihara as director, Jukki Hanada as screenwriter, Shoko Ikeda as character designer, Naoka Yamada as series director, and Akito Matsuda as music composer. Taichi Ogawa directed the second film with Tatsuya Ishihara as executive director.

ELEVEN ARTS describes the films as:

“I’m so angry I could die.”
Kumiko Oumae could never forget the tears of anger of Reina Kosaka who said these words during the harmony orchestra competition in third year of middle school. Now in high school, Kumiko is invited by Hazuki Katou and Sapphire Kawashima to join the harmony orchestra, but their performances are sorely lacking … Everything changes when a new music teacher, Noboru Taki, takes over. At first, group members resist his disciplined approach, but gradually gain confidence as their game improves. Kumiko also feels himself getting closer to Reina. Taki auditioned to select the members who will participate in the Sunrise Festival competition… Overcoming many obstacles, the orchestra heads to the Kyoto regional competition.

Source: press release

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.